Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Ecopsychology Cafe – Undoing Collective Narcissism, an interview with Jeanine Canty

July 19, 2023 @ 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm EDT

Free
Undoing Collective Narcissism
Everyone is welcome to attend CEN’s virtual Ecopsychology Café! This month we will be in conversation with Jeanine Canty, Ph.D. about her latest book, “Returning the Self to Nature: Undoing Our Collective Narcissism and Healing Our Planet.”
Café Hours: Jul 19, 2023 9:30am PDT / 12:30pm EDT / 5:30pm BST
Seeing the suffering of the planet and that of humans as inseparably linked—the ecological crisis as psychological crisis, and vice versa—opens the door to a mutuality of healing between people and nature. At the heart of both chronic and acute forms of narcissism is a socially constructed false self—an isolated, damaged ego in a delusional cycle of selfishness.
Jeanine Canty, Ph.D. is a professor in the Transformative Studies Doctoral program at the California Institute for Integral Studies. Formerly the chair of Environmental Studies at Naropa University, she continues to teach at Naropa and at Pacifica Graduate Institute’s Ecopsychology certificate program. Her edited volumes are Ecological and Social Healing: Multicultural Women’s Voices and Globalism and Localization: Emergent Approaches to Ecological Crises.
For more information contact CEN Founder, Carol Koziol, Ph.D.
https://www.facebook.com/events/233692179527616/?ref=newsfeed
Register in advance for this meeting:
https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZAod-2gqjMqGtN6pJP2GE9Lcb5A5FXTshOW?fbclid=IwAR0fcNtSChFlAJYitaCziBHjDLvb3726uadbIK_R8w0fyCeLjS8BQMHuYnY#/registration

Venue

Virtual
Canada

Organizer

Canadian Ecopsychology Network
View Organizer Website